On doubt and belief

On doubt and belief

A few days ago I shared an article about the doubt that  Mother Theresa battled with her whole life. You can read it here. I read that article and the first thought that came to my mind was “Wow! She was a human being like the rest of us. How refreshing!”

The article talked about her being canonized into a saint by Pope Francis.  Now I don’t agree with the Catholic whole system of canonization. However I believe that somehow we are brothers and sisters. I do agree though with the importance of commemorating a life of servant-hood to have others hold a godly example in their minds.  And Mother Theresa was a prime example of servant-hood.

But the article inspired me. It came from one of the priests who fought for her canonization.  He had published private letters and private prayers and we can see that Mother Theresa dealt with a large sense of doubt.  It talked about how at times she felt utterly abandoned by God. Yet she kept going.  The author of the book wanted to show that faith is not a straight line, or the absence of doubt. It is the courage to go forward in spite of doubt.  So every day she would get up, rely on her Maker’s grace, and do what she had to do to serve. Then she would go and pour out her heart in her private time to the LORD.

Let us hold fast the profession of our faith without wavering; (for He is faithful that promised;) Hebrews 10:23 KJV

The article encouraged me. For a long time I wondered about my role on earth. And why i was who i was. It seems to me there is really no one like me. And I have struggled with wanting to serve Jesus. At the same time yet, being aware of my own earthly fleshy limitations. I really was despaired. Until I learned about grace. All things are possible through Christ because of grace. And it gave me hope.

Still reading about one of the most respected servants of God, who also dealt with doubt and despair, showed me that truly,

God doesn’t call the qualified, He qualifies the called. Lisa Bevere

And that’s why I love Jesus.

J.

 

2 thoughts on “On doubt and belief

Leave a Reply

